This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Tip Top Travel

Lufthansa City Center

Telephone: +593 2 / 2563181
+593 2 / 2228520

Mariscal Foch E7-81 & Diego de Almagro,
Tip Top Travel

To discover the Galapagos Islands is to discover nature in its purest state. Set along the equator, 600 miles off the west coast of the continental part of Ecuador. They consist of 13 major islands and 17 smaller islands and some 40 rocks that make up the archipelago were born from a fiery volcano deep in the Pacific Ocean. 

The Galapagos Islands can be divided into four different areas within the archipelago: Western, Southern, Northern and Central Islands. Each region of Galapagos has distinguishing features. Many islands have their own endemic wildlife. 

Western Galapagos Islands 
The youngest part of the Islands. Visiting the area you'll learn about how the islands were born of fire and how they developed over the years. The marine life is abundant and the wildlife that lives on these islands is dependent on the sea which is why you'll have the best chance to see dolphins, whales and penguin population in addition this is the only area to see flightless cormorants

Southern Galapagos Islands

Born millions of years ago, this is the oldest part of the archipelago. Due to the great distances between these islands many of the species evolved differently creating endemic species found only on that island such as tortoise and the mockingbird. However human impact had a negative impact on the wildlife originally found here.
Espanola is the only nesting area in the world for the Waved Albatross and has the most diverse wildlife in all of Galapagos. Both San Cristobal and Floreana offer a mixture of wildlife and the history of man in the Galapagos

Northern Galapagos Islands

Unlike the other islands with a looming central volcano at Genovesa the caldera has collapsed. The highest point of the island is now a mere 250 foot above the sea and the yachts sail into the island's belly. To protect the area cruises holding over 40 passengers are prohibited by the Galapagos National Park.
Genovesa is known as the birders islands with more species of birds on this island than any other. You'll find colonies of red-footed, blue-footed and Nazca boobies, storm petrels, great frigates, swallow tail gulls, short eared owls and Darwin Finch just to name a few.

Central Galapagos Islands

These islands are just in the middle, younger than those to the south and older than those to the west.
Colonies of boobies, frigate birds and sea lions are common sites. Land Iguanas can be seen in forests of opunita cactus. For many visitors, a trip to the highlands of Santa Cruz is their only opportunity to see the Giant Galapagos Tortoises in the wild. The central Galapagos Islands are the most visited due to the closeness to the main airport